The Planning Commission is composed of seven members, the majority of which are residents of the town, who are appointed by the Selectboard for four year terms. The Commission is responsible for preparing, maintaining and amending the municipal plan, zoning regulations and subdivision regulations; undertaking reviews under these regulations; participating in the review of applications under Act 250; and conducting studies and making recommendations on land development and redevelopment, transportation, design, historic and scenic preservation, energy conservation and natural resource protection.

This is the official site of the Town of Essex, Vermont